

PRAIRIE HEIGHTS COMMUNITY SCHOOLS BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING

January 9, 2014 7:10 p.m.

Administration Office 0305S 1150E, LaGrange, IN

MINUTES

The Prairie Heights Community School Board of Education met in a special session on Thursday, January 9, 2014. The meeting was held in the Administration Office. Those in attendance were as follows: Alan Middleton, Bob Ledgerwood, Todd Perkins, Janet Grabill, Mike Howe, and Jim Courtright. Lisa Ledgerwood was also in attendance.

The meeting was called to order by President Bob Ledgerwood at 7:10 p.m.

Board Reorganization

- □ Officers **President** A motion was made by Mike Howe to nominate Bob Ledgerwood. Todd Perkins made a motion to close nominations. Janet Grabill seconded the motion the motion passed 5-0. Bob Ledgerwood was elected President elect for 2014 by acclamation. **Vice-President** A motion was made by Janet Grabill to nominate Jim Courtright. Todd Perkins made a motion to close nominations. Mike Howe seconded the motion and approval 5-0. Jim Courtright was elected Vice-President elect for 2014 by acclamation. **Secretary** A motion was made by Janet Grabill to nominate Mike Howe. Jim Courtright made a motion to close nominations. Todd Perkins seconded the motion and approval was 5-0. Mike Howe was elected Secretary elect for 2014 by acclamation.
- □ School Corporation Treasurer A motion was made by Mike Howe to approve Karen Eagleson as the School Corporation Treasurer and Kathy Perkins as the Deputy School Corporation Treasurer. The motion was seconded by Janet Grabill and approval was 5-0.
- □ School Board Attorney − A motion was made by Jim Courtright to approve Bill Eberhard as the Board Attorney. The motion was seconded by Todd Perkins and approval was 5-0.
- □ Board Salary − A motion was made by Janet Grabill to approve the salary for the board members to be Status Quo. The motion was seconded by Mike Howe and approval was 5-0.
- □ Superintendent Committee Appointments Mr. Middleton appointed the following committees:
 - a. Meet & Discuss Janet Grabill & Bob Ledgerwood
 - b. Sick Bank Jim Courtright & Janet Grabill
 - c. Legislative Todd Perkins
 - d. Building Trades Janet Grabill
 - e. Agriculture Mike Howe
 - f. Negotiations all five members
- Mike Howe made a motion to leave monthly board meetings on the third Monday of the month beginning at 7:00 p.m. for the year. The motion was seconded by Jim Courtright and approval 5-0.

The following Personnel item was approved by Mr. Middleton:

□ Approval of Retirement – Denny Northup (PHMS/PHES Head Custodian).

Adjournment was at 7:23 p.m.

Documents were signed