

March 19, 2012 7:00 p.m.

Administration Office 0305S 1150E, LaGrange, IN

MINUTES

The Prairie Heights Community Schools Board of Education met in regular session on March 19, 2012. The meeting was held in the Administration Office. Those in attendance were as follows: Alan Middleton, Mike Howe, Bob Ledgerwood, and Todd Perkins. Also in attendance were Donell Housel, Karen Eagleson, Hope Hagaman, Kelly Hagaman, Kyleen Helmuth, Amber King, CJ Bovee, Cheri Bovee, Chelsi Daley, Carolyn High, Heather Hornbrook, Elizabeth Agler, Tiffany Rutter, Sierra Mullins, Heather Mills, Ron Northup, Lisa Ledgerwood, Andrea Ledgerwood, Ron Noll, Ben Leu, Shari Schippers, Michelle Rice, Laine Warnock, Denise McNabb, and Brenda Rummel.

The meeting was called to order by President Mike Howe at 7:00 p.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and a moment of Silence.

The Board recognized the following Prairie Heights students for their accomplishments: Zane Rowdon – LaGrange County Spelling Bee Winner, Andrea Ledgerwood – 2012 State Lugar Essay Contest Winner, Erica Anderson – Scholastic Gold Key for Science Ficition/Fantasy & Poetry, Cassy Bovee – Honorable mention for Visual Arts/Photography, Heather Hornbrook – Silver Key for Poetry, Josie Lowe – Gold Key for Poetry and Silver Key for Flash fiction & Poetry, Elizabeth Montgomery – Gold Key for Poetry, Lauren Warner – Gold Key for Film & Animation, Hannah Siegel – Gold Key for Poetry and a National Silver Medal for Poetry. Tia Vaillancourt – FCAVC Skills in Culinary Arts, Logan Penick – FCAVC Skills in Cosmetology Leadership and Danica Forbes – FCAVC Skills in Cosmetology Leadership. The following members of the Dance Team also was recognized for being a State Finalist this season: Danica Forbes, Kyleen Helmuth, Heather Mills, Tiffany Rutter, Elizabeth Agler, Chelsi Daley, Miranda Davies, Hope Hagaman, Carly Holsinger, Lizzie Kratz, Sierra Mullins, Katie Rasler-Fuller, Jamee Sowards, and Amber Handshoe, Manager.

A motion was made by Todd Perkins to approve the following Consent Items:

- □ Approval of the February 20, 2012 minutes.
- □ Approval of March 5, 2012 payroll.
- Approval of March claims.
- Approval of Employment Mike Travis (MS Girls Track Coach), Megan Porter (Volunteer Varsity Girls Track Coach). Mr. Middleton approved the retirement of Barb Halsey (PHES Teacher) and Roger Mikel (PHHS Teacher) at the end of the 2011-2012 school year. Mr. Middleton also approved the employment of Angela Anderson (Educational Interpreter). Mr. Middleton approved the resignation of Rusty Niccum (Educational Interpreter) and Angela Anderson (PHES part-time Aide).

The motion was seconded by Bob Ledgerwood and approval was 2-0-1.

Motions were then made on the following Action Items:

□ Bob Ledgerwood made a motion to approve Graduation at PHHS to be Sunday, June 3 at 3:00 p.m. Todd Perkins seconded the motion and the motion passed 3-0.

- □ Todd Perkins made a motion to approve the Drivers Education fee to be set at \$320 per student this year. There will only be 36 students accepted due to only 1 instructor. Bob Ledgerwood seconded the motion and the motion passed 3-0.
- □ Bob Ledgerwood made a motion to approve the FFA 2012 Program of Activities as presented by Mr. Noll and Mr. Leu. Todd Perkins seconded the motion and the motion passed 3-0.

Mr. Middleton gave a report on the following items:

- Report on HVAC System at PHES & PHMS
- Technology Report One to One Computing
- 2012-2013 Staffing
- Last Student Day
- RISE (Teacher Evaluation) Overview

Adjournment was at 7:53 p.m.

Documents were signed

Executive Session – I.C. 5-14-1.5-6.1(b)(9) to discuss job performance of an employee began at 7:56 p.m. Adjournment was at 8:40 p.m.